You need to make this NOW

Ina Garten’s Herbed Baked Eggs.

.

These are the best eggs I have ever had. And I say that without any exaggeration. I know it may seem a little self-serving to say that, since I made the dish myself, but really, all credit goes to the high priestess of easy, elegant food, Ina Garten. I owe Chrissy Teigen some thanks too, for coming up with the genius idea of adding BACON to the eggs. I’ve wanted to make these since I first read Chrissy’s blog post, but it took a while for me to find oven-proof ramekins that would be big enough to fit at least two eggs. I finally found them at Rustan’s two days ago and they were a steal at PHP 90 each.

I used dry rosemary and thyme as I couldn’t find fresh even after going to three stores (I swear, I always have to go to at least three stores to get everything I need for my weekend cooking) and pancetta instead of regular bacon. I also just eyeballed the parmesan, garlic and herb mixture. I was too lazy to measure figured, how could you possibly go wrong with that combination of flavors anyway? You probably can’t. And the smell that filled up our house while these babies were in the oven proves that.

I also served it with buttered toasted pan de sal:

.

Garlic-Parmesan-Butter-Cream-Parsley-Thyme-Rosemary flavor party in my mouth. Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaah. If I stare at this photo long enough, I’d probably drool all over my keyboard.

Eggy, herb-y, creamy heaven. Drooooooooooooool.

4 thoughts on “You need to make this NOW

  1. I’m keeping this recipe in mind once I get a new oven over the summer. Seriously, you inspire me to do all these cooking from @chrissyteigen’s recipes. Hehe!

  2. I must say, I had no idea who Chrissy Teigen was before reading about her here, but now I am girl crushing!! She is an appreciator of good food, funny, smart (how many models have blogs that are actually full of coherent sentences? not just pictures and 3-word captions) and gorgeous!

    • I know what you mean! She is smart, witty and her blog never fails to make me laugh out loud. And so open and honest to her readers, too. You’d think that we’d be jealous and hate her since she is further proof that life is not fair (did you know that she also got recently engaged to John Legend?) but, nope. I love her.

  3. Pingback: This is why I love Ina « Don't ask me to smile…

Feel free to let me know what you think!

