Paris again: The Rose Bakery

No, you read right, I’m not done with the Paris food posts yet.

I came across The Rose Bakery while researching places to eat (here, and here, among other places). Everything I read about the place was positive, how it’s THE place to have brunch in Paris. Then I read this book about Paris and Parisian living:


Inès de la Fressange gave the place her seal of approval? I’m so there!

With a name like The Rose Bakery, I imagined the place to be charming, with helpful and friendly staff, and fresh, wholesome comfort food and unfussy home-baked pastries and desserts. And everything was as I imagined it to be.

With its selection of salads, quiches, mini pizzas and specials, the blogs were right when they said that The Rose Bakery is THE place to have brunch in Paris. Everything is light (except maybe the burger, which is on the menu), fresh, simple and made from organic produce. And everything is beautiful, too. The salads are vibrant with carrots, beets, beans and tomatoes, not necessarily all in one salad. The baked goods are pretty, too, with chocolate and cream cheese marbled on the brownies, raspberries topping a tart and gleaming blueberries atop a cake.

But the food wasn’t just a feast for the eyes, they were, of course, delicious, too. We had one of the specials, the chicken fingers. The chicken itself wasn’t particularly special, but credit must be given for the fact that they weren’t greasy at all and were still tender. The thing that carries the dish, though, is the marinara dipping sauce. Full of that summery tomato flavor, maybe a little garlic and a lot of herbs (basil, for sure), the dipping sauce brightens up the average chicken tenders and is the undisputed star of the dish. The roasted potatoes, sweet potatoes and the unidentified white vegetable were good, too, well seasoned and not oily.

But The Rose Bakery is famous for their quiches, not their chicken, so we made sure to get one of those. We ordered the roasted tomato and bacon quiche with vegetables on the side (about €14). And one bite into the quiche explained to us why TRB was famous for them. For one thing, the texture was perfect, creamy and velvety but just egg-y enough to not be crème brûlée. Then you add cheese, bacon roasted tomatoes and a crispy crust to that fluffy goodness? AWE. SOME.

I loved the veg that went with it, too (shocker, I know). The beans were the most perfectly seasoned beans I’ve ever had. And the leek and mandarin orange salad provided great contrast to the creaminess of the quiche with its citrusy dressing. Both were so good, I gladly finished all my veggies!

Enough about veggies though, even if they are THAT good. Even the most mindblowingly delicious salad can’t keep me from having some dessert. From a selection that included scones, polenta cake, a fresh berry salad and a raspberry tart I chose these two, because I really can’t resist a dessert that incorporates cream cheese in it.

The Rose Bakery’s Carrot Cake and Marbled Chocolate & Cream Cheese Brownies

Don’t be fooled by their famous carrot cake, it’s not cupcake-sized, it’s huge. And that’s exactly the way it should be because it’s yummy. While the flavor is the same as any well-made carrot cake, the thing about TRB’s is that it’s not greasy at all. All carrot cakes or cupcakes (even my favorite from Sonja’s) are almost always unavoidably greasy because most recipes call for A LOT of oil. I remember the first carrot loaf I baked called for one and a half cups of vegetable oil (!!!), and it was still very greasy even if I just put in one cup (can you imagine if I put everything in?). Yummy, don’t get me wrong, but still greasy. But TRB’s was the least oily one I’ve ever had, in fact I wouldn’t call it oily at all. Just perfectly moist.

And apart from the presence of cream cheese in it, the other reason I chose the marbled brownies (sold by weight) was because it was so pretty. I mean, come on, how could something with cheese and chocolate AND that looked that pretty not be delicious? Not possible, at least in The Rose Bakery’s case. The chocolate part is rich and dense while the cheese parts are less dense and a little bit tangy and salty. To put it more succinctly: yum.

The unsurprising conclusion to this post is, duh, I have to go back to Paris and have more of what The Rose Bakery has to offer. Too many tarts, cakes and loaves remain untasted by me, and that has to be remedied.

Plus, I JUST found out that the Arnaud Delmontel boulangerie and pâtisserie is just right across the street (how the eff did I miss that? I blame the cream cheese brownies).

The Rose Bakery has two branches in Paris: on 46 Rue des Martyrs (9th arr., Metro: Notre-Dame de Lorette or St. Georges) and on 30 Rue Debelleyme (3rd arr., Metro: Filles du Calvaire).

2 thoughts on “Paris again: The Rose Bakery

  1. Loved your post. I’m hoping to duplicate the small vegetable tarts. Can you tell me what the size of the square is? From your picture it looks like 4″ square. They look just too wonderful not to give a whirl. I have some 3″ square tart pans that I could try them in. After all, I want to try them for my grandchildren’s lunchboxes. The pictures in the book are amazing!

Feel free to let me know what you think!

