Mercato Centrale: Merry Moo, Part 2

I’ve been to Mercato Centrale for the last 5 of the 6 Saturdays they’ve been open. And every week, I have a scoop (or a pint) of Merry Moo Ice Cream, with no fail.

I usually stick to my favorite Sea Salt Caramel, but various factors (curiosity, the desire to prove that bacon indeed does make everything better, Sea Salt Caramel being sold out by the time I got there) forced my hand to try other flavors.

First up is Chocolate Peanut Butter. I was a little wary of this, because the combination of both flavors usually turns out to be too sweet for my liking. But my mom swears by this flavor and she says it tastes like Chocnut. I disagree. Merry Moo’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream tastes better. I think the downfall of most PB-Chocolate combinations is that they use milk chocolate or too much chocolate that the sweetness tends to overwhelm. Merry Moo, I suspect, uses dark or semi-sweet chocolate for their version (feel free to correct me, Kelvin) and the ice cream is all the better for it. Imagine, if you could, dark chocolate Chocnut in ice cream. Yummy.

L-R: Candied Bacon, Peanut Butter Chocolate

The other flavor I just had to try was Merry Moo’s Candied Bacon. Because if anything can disprove that bacon makes everything better, it’s ice cream with bacon. And so, did Merry Moo ruin bacon’s heretofore spotless record? I am happy to say that, if anything, Merry Moo’s Candied Bacon ice cream gave further credence to the argument that bacon is a welcome addition to ANYTHING. Even ice cream.

The ice cream is a sweet base, the flavor a cross between caramel and maple syrup. The bacon is chopped into small bits, not too small that you can’t taste it anymore, but not too big that you get a big chunk of saltiness. And beyond all logic, the combination works. The sweetness of the ice cream perfectly complements the saltiness of the bacon. I have to admit, it was a little strange at first, but I kept on re-tasting it and re-tasting it because I couldn’t believe the combination would be THAT good. Before I knew it, I had eaten a disproportionate of what was, technically, my sister’s scoop of ice cream.

So (#2) Chocolate Peanut Butter and (#4) Candied Bacon definitely landed on my list of Merry Moo favorites, just behind my beloved (#1) Sea Salt Caramel and (#3) Strawberry Basil, respectively. At the rate I’m going half of their flavors will be on my “favorites” list.

2 thoughts on “Mercato Centrale: Merry Moo, Part 2

  1. For this batch of the peanut butter choco ice cream, I used the semi-sweet chocolate. I’m still fixing the recipe. Let me know if you have anything in mind to improve upon it. 🙂 Glad that you liked the bacon ice cream. It’s quite the dark horse so far in terms of the flavor line up. 😛

    • I like it the way it is! I think if you use milk chocolate, it’ll be too sweet. Semi-sweet or maybe dark chocolate will do the trick!… Yeah, I think a bacon-flavored ice cream was either going to be really popular, or a bust. I’m so happy for you that it’s the former. I can’t wait for other flavors you come up with!

Feel free to let me know what you think!

