Hungry for home

I am coming home in a week. Big YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEY.

Yes, coming home is about seeing family and friends again, sleeping in my own bed, escaping the cold, blah-blah-blah… but it is also about FOOD. And as much as I make a mean cheese omelet (with mozzarella and cheddar)

My yummmy and goooey cheese omelette

and looooooove bacon, I am looking forward to not having to eat breakfast food for dinner for the measly eight days that I will be home for. And I intend to celebrate my momentary freedom from BLT sandwiches, microwave dinners and sauce-in-a-jar pasta with the following foods (in no particular order):

My must haves:

  • Barbecue from Beach House in UP Diliman
  • Beef Brisket, Dimsum and Chili Garlic Sauce (it’s so good I consider it a “food” and not a condiment) from Le Ching
  • The tacos we make at home (or the ones from Pancake House)
  • Jollibee Chicken Joy
  • Home cooked chicken adobo
  • The Shawarma from that stall (the name escapes me right now) by the entrance of Rustan’s Fresh in Makati
  • Devil’s Food Cake from The Chocolate Kiss Café
  • The Hainanese Chicken and Lettuce Cups my fam had for my grandparents’ wedding anniversary (I have no idea where it’s from, but I’m bummed I missed it and will demand to have it again for dinner)
  • Hainanese Chicken from Chef Steve in Makati
  • Sonja’s Cupcakes (the carrot one, the peanut butter and jelly one, the cheesecake and the cheese and chocolate one)
  • Conti’s cheese puffs
  • Cyma’s Skolatina
  • Crepes with apples, vanilla ice cream and Nutella from Café Breton
  • Spicy Salmon salad and Sakura salad from Sakura in Glorietta

The back-ups (in case I miraculously still have space in my tummy after the list above):

  • Baliwag Lechon Manok
  • Savory Chicken
  • Max’s Fried Chicken (yes, I obviously like chicken)
  • Breakfast from Aristocrat
  • Amber’s Pancit Malabon (my friend Rach will think that I’m doing Amber’s an injustice by not putting it in the first list)
  • McDonald’s fried chicken
  • Pumpkin soup, Spinach dip and Beef with Garlic and Rosemary from Cibo
  • JT’s Chicken Inasal
  • Lord Stow’s egg tarts

I know, it’s an ambitious list. I’ve done the math and I don’t have enough lunches and dinners to fit everything in, unless I start having tacos or fried chicken for breakfast. And it’s not like I’ll have the full eight days to go on full-on food trip mode. Unfortunately, I have to go to work. And have my hair cut. And unpack. And re-pack. And try (and that’s the operative word, TRY) to exercise to minimize the effects of the calorific onslaught to come.

2 thoughts on “Hungry for home

  1. “The Hainanese Chicken and Lettuce Cups my fam had for my grandparents’ wedding anniversary” –some Chinese restaurant Tita Lani discovered in Banawe. i forgot the name eh. Mama said she’ll buy you those. Max’s has a promo this month, eat all you can chicken for 165php ata. hahahah not that you’ll be eating that much chicken…and the Baliwag Lechon Manok goes well with Korean gim!!! 🙂

Feel free to let me know what you think!