Oh, John…

John Mayer is a d*bag. He’s a jerk. He’s a first rate a**hole. I know that. But I am still a fan because despite his appalling behavior in real life, his songs just really get to me.

You may already know from my post on his Manila concert that one of my favorite songs of his is Edge of Desire. I love this song so much that I practically had a panic attack when I though he wasn’t going to sing it here, and then a nervous breakdown when he did actually sing it as his encore. And just when I thought my emotional reaction to this song couldn’t get more extreme, I see this video where he intros it with this short speech:

So a lot of you guys are gonna head home and either receive texts in the dead of night or actually compose them. That are not going to be fully representative of how you feel for the rest of the day or the rest of your week. But you’ll be reaching out, if you’re not reaching out you’ll have someone else reaching out to you. And your friends and your brain and your morals and your conscience have all trained you not to respond.

But I’m gonna go against the grain and I’m going to suggest that the next time you get a text from the one you like, the only person in the world  that you love and can’t talk to, that you respond. That you just write back. When they ask you if you’re up and you’re up and you love ’em just write back: ‘Yup, Come over’

Cause life is just too short to keep playin’ the game. Because if you really want somebody, you’ll figure it out later. Otherwise, you’ll be layin’ in bed with a Blackberry on your chest staring at it, doing nothing for the rest of the night. Hoping that it goes ‘bzzzzz…bzzzzz…bzzzz’

If you love someone
If you love somebody
Don’t say a word
Just come over

That speech is trouble, ain’t it? And then he goes and follows it up with the opening riff to Edge of Desire, the song for the yearning, if ever there was one.

If you actually do send out that text and it works out for you, yey! And you’re welcome. If it doesn’t and it blows up in your face, blame John Mayer. Like I said, guy’s a douche.

Or you can blame my sister, who showed me this video and had the patience to actually transcribe the speech. Thanks, G!

Feel free to let me know what you think!

