TV Shows I really should start watching, one I should stop

I don’t think I’ve ever said this in my life but, really, I should watch more TV.

Ever since I started working, I haven’t been able to follow a TV series consistently. During the first three years or so of my job my work hours varied, I traveled a lot and I forget airing schedules (haha!) so I end up missing way too many episodes of whatever show I want to watch. I didn’t use to mind, since there weren’t any TV shows I just HAD to watch back then, but recently, there are some shows that I really, really want to get started on:

Downton Abbey: British accents. Wealthy English people with said accents. Gorgeous country manor. Professor Minerva McGonagall Maggie Smith. Hats. What is not to love? Apart from the fact that the show has won awards left and right, the mania over Downton Abbey is so crazy, it’s impossible to be at least curious about the show.

Revenge: Well, I’m cheating a little bit here because I actually have started watching the show. But not regularly so I’ve missed quite a few episodes. What I’ve seen though is great. Not in a Emmy-award winning sense (although Madeleine Stowe was nominated for a Golden Globe), but in a campy, guilty-pleasure sense. The show is based on Alexandre Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo but is set in a Gossip Girl-type world of scheming, lying and cheating, ridiculously rich, good-looking and well-dressed people. How can that NOT be good?

Mad Men – I know, I know. I am late to the game, as the show is starting its FIFTH season in a week’s time. I KNOW. And I am trying to remedy the situation. ASAP. I need Don Draper in my life.

There are other shows that I need to stop watching, though, because they’ gotten old. And, no, I don’t mean Gossip Girl. In some weird way, the awful writers keep me watching by wanting me to see how much worse the stories could get. So, well done, GG writers, if that was your intent behind Blair marrying Printh Louiiiiiiis and hooking up with Dan freakin’ Humphrey. Uggggh. But I digress.

I actually mean How I Met Your Mother. How this show got to seven seasons is beyond me. Seven seasons and Ted still hasn’t met the mother? Ted still hasn’t been in a serious, healthy, long-term relationship? If I were Ted’s kids, I would’ve left that couch ages ago and just asked my mom or Uncle Barney or Aunt Robin or Uncle Marshall or Aunt Lily how my parents met. That would’ve saved us all a thousand jokes about Barney’s crazy gimmicks to get women (which are quite offensive actually), Robin’s Canadian-ness and how adorable Lily and Marshall are. We get it. Get. To. The. Mother.

And how about you? Any shows you are swearing off? Any recommendations on other ones I should start?

Please click the photos for the sources.

5 thoughts on “TV Shows I really should start watching, one I should stop

  1. re: HIMYM – And it’s been renewed for multiple years. If they’re not planning on introducing the “Mother” anytime soon it’ll surely drive the viewers nuts.

  2. my tv shows are my guilty pleasures…last month i got hooked on Drop Dead Diva which was being shown daily at 10;30am on AXN Beyond. got frustrated when the season ended & they switched the show to another one! had to get my hands on Season 3 and over a couple of sick (physically) days i watched the whole season. now i can’t wait for season 4 to start in the US! another one is Once Upon a Time and of course, my walang kamatayang CSIs (yeah all of them). but i try to get the whole season nalang and watch it whenever i want because i can’t seem to remember when some of them are! 😀

  3. Rose: I don’t get HIMYM’s popularity either. I think it peaked in season 2 or 3 and by now it’s just old.

    Therese: I know, I can’t keep track of when shows are on either. And even if I remember, I’m usually busy with work/baking/whatever that I still don’t get to watch… “Walang kamatayang CSI”. I think that’s exactly how my mom feels about CSI, all of them. She still watches and even watches reruns!

  4. Downton Abbey, Downton Abbey, Downton Abbey, Sherlock! 🙂

    That’s what I’m currently subsisting on but Season 2 has just ended for both series. Fortunately, Season 2 of Game of Thrones is going to be on HBO soon so I hope that will tide me over.

    • I had a friend recommend Sherlock, too!! Now I really am curious.

      Sigh. So many cupcakes to bake, books to read, shows to watch and so little time!

Feel free to let me know what you think!

