Obsessed

There is no other word for it, really.

I have long been a fan of the Breton shirt and stripes in general. Stripes make up such a disproportionate part of my wardrobe that my sister groans “Ugggggh, another striped shirt?” every time I come home with another one. I really just can’t enough and am always on the look out for the perfect shirt. There’s something inherently easy, timeless yet effortlessly chic about them that I can’t resist.

So imagine my delight when I discovered a Tumblr dedicated to the la marinière. I’m not kidding when I say I think it’s the best Tumblr ever.  This Tumblr is to me as gin is to an alcoholic. I am obsessed. This site, if anything, reconfirms everything I love about the Breton shirt: that it is elegant, it is versatile and it is absolutely stylish.

If you need further convincing, just look at who’s been photographed wearing it. Surely Coco Chanel AND Audrey Hepburn can’t BOTH be wrong.

PS: Girl Crush Alert! Mini Anden, she of that beautiful face in the lower right corner, is, was and always will be one of my all-time favorite models.

9 thoughts on “Obsessed

  1. oooh what a coincidence… part of my new year’s resolution was actually to incorporate more striped shirts in my wardrobe!! for the longest time i’ve been wearing too much floral and printed stuff, my family was starting to be like, “you have GOT to change the way you dress.” the first time i wore a striped breton shirt with a black skirt, i actually got compliments! since then i’ve been wearing more striped shirts, and accessorizing them is so easy… you can wear them with scarves or bib necklaces or cardigans… plus bloggers like manila fashion observer who like the parisian style swear by them… will check out the tumblr post you cited for more ideas! thanks!

  2. Pingback: Just because « Don't ask me to smile…

Feel free to let me know what you think!

