No, not the cupcakes

Obviously, Cupcakes by Sonja is famous for their cupcakes (duh). But what I look for first when I enter their adorable store in Serendra are not the cupcakes. My eyes go straight to the covered cake stands or the cookie jars on top of the cupcake displays to look for these:

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies from Cupcakes by Sonja

These are, by a long shot, the yummiest oatmeal cookies I’ve ever had. And I have tried a lot. Most are either too dry from the oatmeal or too moist and chewy that it doesn’t feel like an oatmeal cookie anymore. But the cookies from Sonja’s have found the perfect balance between the graininess of the oats and the chewiness we’ve come to expect from well-made cookies.

They have a sweetness from the big, plentiful raisins, a slight saltiness from the walnuts and a very subtle, buttery flavor. They really are the perfect oatmeal cookies.

Cupcakes by Sonja don’t always make their Oatmeal Raisin cookies, so I suggest you snap these babies up every time you come across them. If you came for the cupcakes (let’s face it, sometimes you just HAVE to have a cupcake, especially when all your other girlfriends are having one), do like I do. I order one cupcake (the PB&J is my fave) for eating at the store and order two three cookies to take home with me.

Now that I think about it maybe they do make these cookies all the time, it’s just that people like me hoard them and leave none for the other customers.

One thought on “No, not the cupcakes

  1. Pingback: September: Raisin Pecan Oatmeal Cookies « Don't ask me to smile…

Feel free to let me know what you think!

