Finally: Bacon Yardbird!

I’ve been itching to try out this recipe when I read about it Chrissy Teigen’s blog (which you really, really, really should read) and I finally made the Lemon Garlic Bacon Chicken (a.k.a. Bacon Yardbird, as renamed by Chrissy’s Twitter followers) tonight.

Now, the thing is, I live in a country where some ingredients are not easy to find, which is annoying. I went to three stores this morning and ended up without poultry seasoning (although I already knew that was going to be very tough to find) and fresh thyme (I substituted dried). I almost ended up without chicken stock as well, if I didn’t find the one carton hiding behind cartons of vegetable stock at Rustan’s.

So, anyway, it was surprisingly easy to make, and I think it only took about 20 minutes to get from here:

IMG_2163

Pale and a little sad looking

 to here:

IMG_2166

Oven ready!

The cooking process itself was less of a breeze. You have to leave it the oven for the first half hour and then start basting and basting for the last 30-45 minutes. We don’t own a baster, and our oven barely managed to fit my pan, so I had no wiggle room to baste and had to take out the entire pan every single time. So, needless to say, I’m buying a turkey baster tomorrow.

But all that exposure to hot oven air was forgotten when I took this out of the oven:

IMG_2167

There’s a relief that comes with your attempt at a recipe at least looking the way it should. It’s affirmation that, at the very least, you did some things right (like, not burning it).

IMG_2170

But the real test, of course, is on the taste. And the verdict is… it was good, but there’s room for improvement. I put in a tiny bit too much lemon and way too little garlic, for starters. I also think that lack of poultry seasoning was telling, since without any gravy or the juices from the pan, the chicken was a little bland (my brother says it isn’t but I think he was just being nice. Awwww.) . I also plan to use less of the drippings from the pan and more chicken stock and seasoning in the gravy that I made since the gravy ended up tasting way too much like the juices.

The chicken itself, however, was lovely. It was tender and juicy and did not dry out at all, despite the high heat it was cooked in (400° for the first half hour). And neither was it raw, which is obviously a big no-no for chicken.

So I’m definitely making this again and am looking forward to the results once I’ve made the adjustments I’ve mentioned above. Now if I just knew how to get my hands on some poultry seasoning here in Manila…

One thought on “Finally: Bacon Yardbird!

  1. Pingback: My 2012 Cooking Challenge « Don't ask me to smile…

Feel free to let me know what you think!

