Sunday Lunch at Rue Cler

I know I promised to post something yesterday, but a full day of walking and a slight headache got the better of me again last night. I was going to write about one of the Paris landmarks I visited last Friday, but I’m putting that on hold again because my elders always said that you should never keep food waiting. So here goes my first Paris food post.

Research food and eating in Paris and you’re bound to come across Rue Cler, an open-air street market in the 7th arrondissement, one of the most popular in Paris. It’s less than a 10 minute walk from the Eiffel Tower, so if you’re hungry after the walk up and down the tower, then it’s a good place to head to. If you’re not hungry, it’s the walk up and down this food market that will do the trick:

Blackberries, blueberries, raspberries, strawberries and cherries

A cheeselover’s heaven that you can smell from a mile away:

.

.

The selection at Davoli:

Carbs galore: two kinds of potatoes (the one on the left has Lardo! I’m coming back for that!) and a risotto

.

And then protein-galore inside: hams and sausages from Italy and France

.

I swear I wasn’t hungry at all prior to setting foot on Rue Cler. We got there at around 11am and I had breakfast, so it was too early to be hankering for lunch. But by the time we’ve walked the entire length of the street (which took about 10 minutes) my stomach was rumbling. And so this is what we had for lunch:

.

The chicken from Darius was delicious and tender, but if you prefer your food on the saltier side, you might want to stay away from the white meat. I love white meat, so I was happy with the breast. Anyway, the chicken is served with the juices from the roasting, so any blandness of the meat is easily remedied by a quick dipping in the oily goodness of the drippings. The skin, while not crispy all throughout, was where most of the flavor (and calories) is. I was a very happy camper as my mother doesn’t eat chicken skin, so all of it was mine.

The risotto was delicious as well, creamy and velvety and Davoli was very generous with the white truffle oil with this dish. My mom is already asking me when we’ll be going back for the risotto. The potatoes were good, too, but it was an easy sell for me, as I love anything with garlic and rosemary together.

We didn’t finish everything, as I ordered too much chicken so we had that and some risotto leftover. Typical Filipinos that we are, we couldn’t bear leaving the chicken which was only half finished. So we picked off the meat and put it in the container the potatoes came in which still had the garlic and rosemary-infused oil, with predictably delicious results. And so it was that we were able to bring Rue Cler to our dinner table and extend our early lunch into a very yummy and satisfying dinner.

If only we could bring Rue Cler all the way back to our diner table back home… *sigh*

Rue Cler is (generally) open all day Tuesdays to Fridays and mornings on Saturday and Sundays (although some shops are closed on entirely on Sundays). Most shops are closed on Mondays. The nearest Metro stop is École Militaire.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Lunch at Rue Cler

  1. I somehow wish you went to Paris ahead of me, so I would have known about Rue Cler! Haha! I stayed in a friends apartment in the 15th arr but it was just 2 blocks to the Eiffel tower. I could have totally had lunch there! I don’t know why, but I wasn’t feeling this trip so much. I think I got burned out from traveling alone so much, and I had a cold this time. So, I wasn’t able to get much done – I didn’t even make it to Le Bon Marche 😦 Anyway, enjoy the rest of your stay! 🙂

    • Awwww, so sorry to hear that you weren’t able to make the most of your trip, I guess that’s one more reason to go back, no? So that you get to go to Rue Cler, Le Bon Marche and of course Le bon Marche’s Le Grand Epicerie!

Feel free to let me know what you think!

