Ye Dang

My sister, who loves everything Korean (TV shows, music, makeup, boys) has been trying to get me and my family to go to Ye Dang for a long time now, probably for as long as a year. It took Divasoria’s blog post about the Korean restaurant to finally convince me to go.

Now, I regret not going when my sister first mentioned this restaurant. I cannot get back those months I lived without Ye Dang in my life. However, I am trying my hardest to make up for time lost. So, what have I been missing out on all this time?

Appetizers galore, lettuce and shiso, and sauces all around

First up, the appetizers. Even if you’re like me, and you don’t like kimchi, there are a lot of other delicious options. My favorites are: the sweet baby potatoes, the fishcakes, the spicy dilis and the garlic greens (kangkong?). I even like the kimchi pancakes.

Another plus, you can ask for refills of the appetizers. Awesome, right? Just the thought of bottomless spicy dilis makes me smile.

However, appetizers, unlimited or not, are not reason enough to go and eat at a restaurant.  But Ye Dang’s main dishes deliver on the expectations set by the appetizers. The restaurant specializes in grilled meats, and among their selection, we ordered samgyupsal (pork belly) and umsamgyup (beef belly) which is grilled by a server on a charcoal grill on your table. Any order of grilled meats comes with lettuce and shiso leaves, garlic and two sauces. One sauce was a combination of oil, salt and pepper another is a red sauce that’s slightly spicy, sour and overall delicious. The meat is meant to be dipped in the sauces and wrapped in the leaves with a slice of garlic. You can also choose to put rice inside the lettuce wrap.

Beef on the right, pork on the left

Or you can just have the meats with rice. I prefer to have the pork in the lettuce wraps, and the beef with the rice. We ask for a sauce to go with the beef (the first time they gave us some upfront, the second time we had to ask for it) and it’s a slightly sweet, Japanese-y sauce that goes perfectly with the thin strips of beef. The best thing is when the beef fat gets a little crispy from the grilling. My goodness, I want to go back to Ye Dang just writing about it.

Apart from their grilled meats, their dolsot bibimbap is yummy as well. It comes in an authentic hot stone bowl, and you mix the rice, the vegetables and the chili paste (if you choose to have it) together. The best part is the crispy tutong (toasted rice) you get at bottom of the bowl.

Dolsot bibimbap, pre-mixing

To end the meal, you get free, sweet and cold pineapple.

My two meals at Ye Dang have been so good that I am already planning my next visit to the restaurant. I’ve read good things about their ribs and grilled chicken, so I can’t wait to try that. If they’re as good as everything else has been, then a second post about Ye Dang maybe coming soon.

PS: Another good thing about Ye Dang is that each grill has this big exhaust pipe over it that you can pull down to suck up the smoke from the grill. You end up smelling only a little of barbecue, as opposed to having clothes, hair and even bra smell of smoke.

Ye Dang is located at Meralco Avenue, Ortigas, Pasig City. Coming from the direction of Julia Vargas, it comes up before the Metro Walk complex.

One thought on “Ye Dang

  1. A lot of good korean restos in makati, too! Sa kalayaan area.ü I wasn’t able to fully satisfy my korean food cravings while i was in seoul last week. I’ll make up for it at Ye Dang.ü

Feel free to let me know what you think!

