My Middle Earth adventure in the middle of Luzon

I am a big Lord of the Rings fan, so when my sister told me that there was a place in Pampanga that looked like slice of Middle Earth, I couldn’t believe it. Pardon my lack of knowledge on diversity of our country’s landscape, but I don’t really picture craggy rocks and leafy peaks when Angeles, Pampanga is mentioned.

I think the photos speak for themselves (i.e. “I told you so!”):

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled
Doesn’t this look like the Paths of the Dead?

Untitled
Untitled

Can’t you just picture Aragorn emerging from the mist (steam, to be more accurate) wielding Anduril?

Untitled

All this you’ll see during the four wheel jeep ride to the Puning hot springs, from their restaurant. Technically speaking, the main point of the trip was to soak in the hot spring pools and get warm sand massages. To the LOTR geek in me, though, the highlight was the landscape: exploring it by foot, taking picture after picture, while humming the LOTR score and imagining Gimli, Legolas and Aragorn on their way to summon the Dead Men of Dunharrow.

Puning Hot Spring & Restaurant
Sitio Target, Barangay Sapang Bato
Angeles City, Pampanga
+63 919 339 2795

2 thoughts on “My Middle Earth adventure in the middle of Luzon

Feel free to let me know what you think!

